Our Governors
The purpose of a Governing Body is to:
  • help the school to set high standards by planning for the school's future and setting targets for school improvement,
  • keep the pressure up on school improvement,
  • be a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice,
  • help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community,
  • make the school accountable to the public for what it does,
  • work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review,
  • exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the headteacher and staff,
  • not intervene in the day-to-day management of the school unless there are weaknesses in the school, when it then has a duty to take action.
(Department for Education, March 2011)

A new Federation Governing Body covering both Polehampton Schools was legally formed on September 1st 2011.
The Instrument of Government was reviewed in Autumn 2015.

Governing Body:
 Type         Name Committee Area of Responsibility
FoundationJoelle CooperMember of Finance and HR
Foundation             Vacancy

Foundation         Vacancy  

Co-opted Sarah PickardVice-chair of Governors.  Member of Teaching, Learning and Assessment.
Co-opted    Allistaire Leighton-YoungNot a committee member - schedules and attends regular safeguarding meetingsSafeguarding / Looked-After Children
Local Authority James SmithChair of Finance & HR
Co-opted Brian Rogers    Chair of School & CommunityHealth and Safety
Co-opted    Caroline Harrison    Chair of Governors.  member of all committees
Co-optedNicola BradshawChair of Teaching, Learning and AssessmentInclusion (SEND & more able)
Co-opted    Phil CurnowMember of Finance & HR
Parent - Junior        Anna LippettMember of Teaching, Learning and Assessment.  Member of School & Community.
Listening Governor
Parent - InfantSarah TangMember of Teaching, Learning and Assessment
Foundation Stage Governor
Headteacher - Infant  Helen BallAll committees
Headteacher - JuniorFunmi AlderAll committees
Staff        Carl McGloneCommittee membership TBC.

Associate Governor    Hazel Snellgroven/aDeputy Headteacher - Infant 
Jennifer Stockdale
Zoe Cacutt
n/aDeputy Headteachers - Junior

Lisa Spooner
Clerk to the Governors
Terms of Office:

 Name     Start Date   

 End Date TermAppointed By
 Allistaire     Leighton-Young 17/01/201618/01/2020      4 yearsGoverning Body
 Caroline      Harrison 23/09/2018     22/09/2022 4 yearsGoverning Body
 James Smith 24/09/2018 23/09/2022 4 yearsLocal Authority
 Phil Curnow 25/09/2017 24/09/2021 4 yearsGoverning Body
 Nicola Bradshaw 10/02/2018     09/02/2022 4 yearsStaff /    Governing    Body
 Brian Rogers 08/07/2018 07/07/2022 4 years    Governing     Body
Joelle Cooper 07/07/2016   06/07/2020 4 years    Diocese
 VACANCY   4 yearsDiocese
 VACANCY     4 years    Diocese
 Funmi Alder 01/09/2018 ongoing ongoingEx Officio
 Helen Ball 01/09/2015 ongoing ongoingEx Officio
 Anna Lippett     19/10/2018
 4 yearsParents
 Sarah Tang 19/10/2018
 18/10/2022 4 yearsParents
 Sarah Pickard 03/10/2018 02/10/2022 4 yearsGoverning  Body
 Carl McGlone 04/12/2018 03/12/2022 4 yearsStaff


 NameFull Governing Body Meetings 2017/2018Committee Attendance 2017/2018
Allistaire Leighton-Young 3/8 meetings 0/0
Caroline Harrison 8/8 14/14
James Smith 8/8 5/6
Joelle Cooper 7/8 5/6
Nicola Bradshaw 7/84/5
Brian Rogers7/83/3
Co-opted Vacancy n/an/a
Rosemary Hay 5/68/11
Deborah Procter 6/84/5
Penny Litson 6/6 14/14
Helen Ball7/714/14
Local Authority Vacancy n/a n/a
Abigail Lacey 7/8 3/3
Sarah Pickard7/83/5
Julie Long 8/82/3
 Phil Curnow     5/8 6/10

Previous Governors

The following governors left the Governing Body in the last twelve months:

 Category Name
 Ex Officio
 Penny Litson
 Parent Abigail Lacey
 Foundation Deborah Procter
 Staff     Julie Long
 Foundation    Rosemary Hay

Register of Other Interests as at July 2018

Governors resolved to disclose all directorships and trusteeships:

 Name Other Interests
Allistaire Leighton-YoungDirector (The Bid Centre Ltd)
Caroline HarrisonParent, Husband is Trustee of David George Trust
James SmithParent, Trustee (David George Trust)
Nicola BradshawStaff, Parent
Brian RogersTrustee (Twyford Snooker Club)

Deborah ProcterParent

Penny LitsonStaff, Trustee (David George Trust)

Helen BallStaff

Joelle CooperParent, Employee of Wokingham Borough Council
Abigail LaceyParent

Sarah Pickard
Parent, Director (New Road Consulting Ltd)
Additional directorship declared December 2018 - Director (BPSE Global)
Julie LongStaff

Phil Curnow

Parent, Director (PTD Consulting Ltd, PTD Holding Ltd)

Register of other interests for directors appointed since July 2018:
 Name Other Interests
 Funmi Alder Interim Head Teacher
 Anna Lippett Parent, Director CLA Consulting Ltd
 Sarah Tang Parent    
 Carl McGlone Staff